Bergen Filharmoniske Orkester
14th May 2000, 7.30 p.m., Philharmonic Hall

Ticets: PLN 30/20

The history of the Bergen Filharmoniske Orkester began in 1765, when it gave its first public performance in Bergen under the name of Musikselskabet “Harmonien”. It was one of the first orchestras to perform works by Haydn and Beethoven, and in the years 1880-82 its director was Edvard Grieg. In 1914 it was supplemented with a choir, and in 1995, together with the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, it has been recognised as National. Since 1999 the first conductor and music director of the orchestra is Simone Young, an Australian counted among the most famous conductors of the young generation. Simone Young was born in 1961 in Sydney, where she graduated from the departments of piano and composition. In 1985 she had a debut in the Sydney Opera House, and was granted the title of the “Young Australian of the Year” which resulted in winning a scholarship to Europe and working with the Opera in Cologne, where she was an assistant of the Opera’s music director, James Conlon, and a director. During the 1992-93 season she performed with the Komische Oper Berlin and the Viennese Volksoper, which was the first step in her world career. Since 1995 she has been working with the Royal Opera House Covent Garden, where she conducted the productions of Tosca, La Traviata and of other operas. La Boheme conducted by her in the Metropolitan Opera was a true success. At the same time she was performing with the NHK Tokyo Symphonic Orchestra, Philharmonic Orchestra of München, New York Philharmonic, Bergen Filharmoniske Orkester, and other orchestras. In January 2001 Simone Young will assume the post of the artistic director of the Australian Opera in Sydney and Melbourne.

During the Krakow concert, the Bergen Filharmoniske Orkester will perform with Truls Mork, a Norwegian virtuoso of the cello, and the winner of a number of international prizes who regularly performs with the world’s best orchestras, including the Berliner Philharmoniker, the London Philharmonic Orchestra, the New York Philharmonic, and the philharmonic orchestras of St Petersburg, Moscow, and Israel.

During the concert we will hear Peer Gynt Suite by Edvard Grieg, Cello concerto in E minor, Op. 85 by Edward Elgar, and the Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 43 by Jean Sibelius.


Golden Sponsors

Supported financially by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage

Media Patrons